Skip to main content
News Release

CFP Board Elects Three New Members to Board of Directors

November 14, 2012

Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. (CFP Board) announced today that it has elected three new Directors to the Board of Directors at its Fall 2012 meeting: Blaine F. Aikin, CFP®, Arthur B. Laby and Thomas C. Nelson.

“These three individuals bring unique talents, experiences and perspectives to CFP Board. We are thrilled that they are joining us,” said Board of Directors Chair Nancy Kistner, CFP®. “We look forward to working with them as they help to strengthen the CFP® certification and advance the organization’s mission of benefiting the public.”

Effective January 1st, the Board will have 14 voting members and one non-voting member, Kevin R. Keller, CAE – Chief Executive Officer of CFP Board.

About the new Directors:

Blaine F. Aikin, CFP® is the President and CEO of fi360. Aikin brings to the Board of Directors a rich history of experience in the financial services industry. Known for his expertise in the area of fiduciary responsibility, Aikin was previously the Chief Knowledge Officer and Director of Training at fi360, where he developed the AIFA program. Aikin writes the “Fiduciary Corner” column for InvestmentNews and before coming to fi360 served in leading roles in financial services firms. In addition to his CFP® certification, Aikin also holds the AIFA and the CFA designations. He received his B.A. in Economics and Political Science from Allegheny College and his M.S. in Public Management and Policy from Carnegie-Mellon University.

Arthur B. Laby is a professor of law at Rutgers School of Law – Camden and former Assistant General Counsel of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. An expert on securities law and its effect on the economy, Laby has published widely on financial services regulation. He is often quoted by the media and is a frequent guest on National Public Radio. Prior to coming to Rutgers, Laby spent nearly ten years at the SEC, most recently in the general counsel’s office where he advised the commissioners, general counsel and the operating divisions on legal and policy issues. Laby is a magna cum laude graduate of the University of Pittsburgh and a magna cum laude graduate of Boston University School of Law.

Thomas C. Nelson is the president of the national anti-hunger group Share Our Strength and an adjunct professor at Georgetown University’s McDonough Business School. Previously, Nelson was the Chief Operating Officer at AARP where he had direct oversight of AARP’s core organizational activities and oversaw an $800 million budget. Prior to becoming the COO, Nelson served AARP in a variety of roles helping to build AARP into the nation’s leading advocate for senior citizens. Nelson is active in a variety of civic and professional roles including serving on boards and advisory bodies such as the National Hispanic Council on Aging where he serves as Chair of the Board, ProInspire, a nonprofit dedicated to recruiting and training the next generation of nonprofit leaders, and the Board of Councilors at the Leonard Davis School/Andrus Gerontology Center at the University of Southern California. He received his Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Southern California, an M.A. in sociology from Columbia University and a B.A. in sociology from Union College.