Skip to main content

The Appeals Commission is responsible for the adjudication of appeal hearings. This responsibility provides the Commission with sole authority to issue CFP Board’s final decision when an individual appeals a final order of the Disciplinary and Ethics Commission (DEC) or an Administrative Order.

The Commission is comprised of five members who currently do not sit on the Board. The Commission was established through changes to CFP Board’s Procedural Rules that were released for public comment in November 2021, and decides appeals filed after February 20, 2022.


Gary Strickland, Esq. (Chair) is a former member of CFP Board’s Disciplinary and Ethics Commission and is a partner at Radix Law in Scottsdale, Arizona. In addition to handling probate and civil litigation, he serves as a Maricopa County Superior Court Judge Pro Tem and acts as arbitrator and mediator in a variety of fields. Gary previously served as the Maricopa County Public Fiduciary, was a State of Arizona Administrative Law Judge on the Central Panel and was Deputy County Attorney in the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office/Civil Division. He received his Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees from Bob Jones University, a Master of Divinity degree from Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis, and his Doctor of Law degree from Washington University in St. Louis School of Law. He will serve a three-year term, ending December 31, 2024.

Angela Coleman, CFP® is a former Chair of the CFP Board’s DEC and is a Fiduciary Investment Advisor at American Trust in Lexington, Kentucky. She manages wealth and provides financial advisory services for Wealth Management division clients and has over 20 years of experience working with high-net-worth clients as well as the emerging affluent. Angela is an active member of her community, serving on multiple boards and is a passionate Financial Literacy volunteer teacher through Junior Achievement. She also participates in various leadership programs, having completed Leadership Lexington, Leadership Central Kentucky, and served on the Leadership Lexington Steering Committee. Angela received a BBA in Marketing from the University of Kentucky’s Carol Martin Gatton College of Business and Economics and an MBA in Finance. She will serve a three-year term, ending December 31, 2026.

Shelly-Ann Eweka, CFP® is an arbitrator for FINRA and has chaired both CFP Board’s Disciplinary and Ethics Commission and the Sanctions and Fitness Commission. She has over 30 years of experience in the financial services industry and is Senior Director, Research & Strategic Program Initiatives at TIAA Institute. Before joining the Institute, Shelly led a team of professionals who built financial plans for TIAA clients and provided support for TIAA Wealth Management Advisors. As a financial planning thought leader, she supports TIAA’s objective of engaging customers with advice that helps them meet their financial needs to and through retirement. Her focus is on proactively delivering forward-looking content through different platforms. Before joining TIAA, Shelly was a relationship manager at Chase Manhattan Bank, a financial planner/workshop presenter at Ernst & Young, and a financial planner at the Vanguard Group. She is a board member of the College for Financial Planning and a member of the Association of African American Financial Advisors. She will serve a three-year term, ending December 31, 2024.

Craig Reaves, Esq. is a former member of the DEC and is an attorney with Reaves Law Firm, P.C., in Kansas City, Missouri. He practices law in Kansas and Missouri with an emphasis in the areas of estate planning, elder law, special needs trusts, and planning for people who have a disability. Craig has been Certified as an Elder Law Attorney (CELA) by the National Elder Law Foundation since the Charter class of 1995. Craig is a lecturer and adjunct professor teaching an Elder Law course at both the University of Kansas School of Law and the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law. He is a Fellow and Past President of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA), a Fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel (ACTEC), a founding Board Member and Past President of the Missouri Chapter of NAELA, and a Past President of the Brain Injury Association of Kansas and Greater Kansas City. Craig is also Past Chair and serves on the Board of Directors of the Kansas City Estate Planning Symposium. He received his B.S. in Business Administration and his J.D. from the University of Kansas. He will serve a three-year term, ending December 31, 2026.

Jeffrey Weekes, CFP® is a former member of the DEC and a current member of CFP Board’s Sanctions and Fitness Commission. He serves as First Vice President, Financial Advisor and Portfolio Management Director with Morgan Stanley in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. Jeffrey provides comprehensive financial planning and investment advice to high-net-worth clients. In 2014, he served as a presenter on the CFP Board webinar “How to Determine if You’re in a Financial Planning Engagement.” He graduated with a B.A. in Economics from Colgate University. Jeffrey will serve a four-year term, ending December 31, 2025.